This book is called "Ecclesiastes" or "The Preacher" because in it, Solomon is represented as an excellent preacher, setting forth the vanity of the things of this world: to withdraw the hearts and affections of men from such empty joys.

1. The vanity of all temporal things. Everything is meaningless. Ecclesiastes 1:1-18.
2. Pleasures, riches, and worldy labours are all meaningless. Ecclesiastes 2:1-26.
3. Man depends on God’s providence. "There is a time for everything". All are subject to death. Ecclesiastes 3:1-22.
4. Other instances of human misery. Oppression, Toil, Friendlesness. Advancement is meaningless. Ecclesiastes 4:1-16.
5. Laws concerning worship. Ecclesiastes 5:1-20.
6. The misery of the covetous man. Ecclesiastes 6:1-12.
7. Various laws concerning wisdom. Ecclesiastes 7:1-12.
8. Uncertainty concerning the future. Ecclesiastes 7:13-29.
9. Submission to authority. Ecclesiastes 8:1-17.
10. Man and the providence of God. Ecclesiastes 9:1-12.
11. Wisdom better than folly. Ecclesiastes 9:13-18.
12. A collection of proverbs on wisdom and folly, wise sayings and practical advice. "Vanity of vanities!" says the teacher. "Everything is vanity". Ecclesiastes 10:1-20; 11:1-10; 12:1-8.
13. Epilogue: Man’s life turns on his attitude to God. There is a judgement when good and evil will be sorted out. Ecclesiastes. 12:9-14.